Where there is a lot of pleasure that comes with the consumption of marijuana depending on where you are in North America. Whether it be in the United States or in Canada different areas have different rules and limits. Please take time to review where you are purchasing and using it from, to avoid any penalties.
These are the legalized recreational marijuana smoking states in the U.S.A with their rules and limits.
Washington State – You have to be in either someone’s private residence and have permission to smoke, or your own private residence. However, if you find yourself in a hotel that allows smoking in the rooms, you are legally allowed to smoke marijuana there but just 1 oz of usable marijuana.
Oregon – In Oregon, possession laws are different for marijuana use at home versus away from home which also include edibles and various other marijuana products. It is advised that smokers who possess marijuana away from home should always have an I.D. for proof of age. You are allowed 8 ounces of usable marijuana per person.
California – You can consume marijuana on private property. Although you cannot consume, smoke, eat, or vape marijuana in public places. You can possess up to 1 oz of marijuana, and up to 8 grams of concentrated marijuana(separated resin, whether crude or purified, obtained from marijuana).
Nevada – You can consume up to 1 oz of marijuana or up to 1/8 of an ounce of concentrated marijuana (the separated resin, whether crude or purified, obtained from marijuana). You cannot use marijuana in any public place including the strip! You cannot use marijuana in a moving vehicle, even if you’re a passenger. Penalties and rules are the same as a DUI if you are caught.
Colorado – Legally you can now be in the possession of 1 oz of marijuana in Colorado as long as your 21 years of age or older. Colorado law however does NOT permit the consumption of marijuana openly and publicly. There are lounges however and in private residences.
Alaska – The law bans all public use of any marijuana, not just smoking. By definition, it is illegal to use marijuana in schools, amusement venues, businesses, parks, playgrounds, sidewalks, or roads. Since marijuana is still illegal federally, you cannot use it on federal land, not in national parks and national forests. You can now legally be in possession of 1 oz of marijuana in Alaska.
Vermont – Individuals may have possession of up to an 1 oz of marijuana for personal consumption. However, they may smoke it outside or in your private residence but not near schools or public places.
Maine – In Maine if you are 21 years of age or older you are allowed possession of up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana. Consuming marijuana on public or federal land is strictly prohibited and illegal. The use of marijuana should be kept to your private residence.
Massachusetts – You can have possession of up to 1 oz of marijuana on you and up to 10 oz in your home. You cannot use marijuana in any form whether it be smoking, vaping, edibles, etc., on public or on federal land. It’s illegal to drive under the influence of marijuana. Penalties and rules are the same as a DUI if you are caught.
Washington D.C. – People over the age of 21 in Washington D.C. may be in possession of up to 2 oz of marijuana and may transfer 1 oz to another person. It is illegal to use marijuana on any street, sidewalk, alley, park, or parking area. In a vehicle on any street, alley, park, or parking area or any place to which the public is invited. If you are caught in a moving vehicle penalties and rules are the same as a DUI if you are caught.
The Canadian provinces and their rules and limits.
British Columbia – Smoking marijuana is allowed but prohibited in cars, around children, and anywhere tobacco is restricted. In B.C., driving while high carries the same penalties as driving drunk, with the additions depending on the number of offences. People are allowed to carry 30 grams on them in public.
Alberta – Smoking marijuana in the general public and anywhere tobacco is restricted. In addition though, it’s not allowed in cars, around children, and wherever tobacco is restricted. The province permits four private cannabis plants per household, 30 grams allowed on an of-age individual, and no limit for possession at home. In Alberta driving while high carries the same penalties as driving drunk, with the additions depending on the number of offences.
Saskatchewan – To purchase and be in the possession of marijuana in Saskatchewan, you must be 19 years old or older. The province permits four private cannabis plants per household and 30 grams per adult. Use of marijuana is limited to private residences.
Manitoba – To purchase and possess marijuana in Manitoba, from either a private retail shop or the government-run online store, one must be at least 19 years old or older. People are allowed to carry 30 grams on them in public. Smoking or vaping marijuana is banned in any public place and will result in a $672 fine.
Ontario – Until brick-and-mortar retail locations are established (coming April 2019), the Ontario Cannabis Store (OCS) is the only legal seller of recreational marijuana in Ontario. IDs will not be checked online but all marijuana orders from OCS.ca must be received by an adult 19 years and older with government-issued photo ID. Marijuana consumption is legal in your private residence and in public areas where tobacco smoke is allowed. It is illegal to smoke marijuana in vehicles, boats, enclosed public places, all workplaces, common indoor areas of condominiums, apartment buildings or university residences, around hospitals and certain Ontario government buildings, schools and school grounds, childcare centers, playgrounds and within 20 meters from the properties of a school or community center. Restaurants and within nine meters of a patio. People are allowed to carry 30 grams on them in public.
Quebec – Smoking and vaping marijuana are allowed anywhere tobacco is and prohibited in health and educational institutions and around children. Smoking in public is permitted here. Quebec’s penalties for driving while high are considered the harshest. As of Oct 17th 2018 to purchase marijuana you must be 18 years of age or older to purchase through the Sociéte québécoise du cannabis (SQDC) government retail and online sales. Though the age is subject to change. People are allowed to carry 30 grams on them in public.
New Brunswick – Purchases of marijuana go through New Brunswick retail and online sales, under the name Cannabis NB. Want to consume marijuana in New Brunswick? Private residences are the only legal spaces to do so.
People are allowed to carry 30 grams on them in public.
Nova Scotia – Purchases of marijuana go through the Nova Scotia Liquor Corporation (NSLC), and most marijuana sales in Nova Scotia will take place inside existing liquor stores. Smoking marijuana in public is permitted here, but only where tobacco is allowed. You can be fined up to $2,000 for violating this law. People are allowed to carry 30 grams on them in public.
Prince Edward Island – For purchasing marijuana the island is using the government online and retail sales model that many other provinces are favouring. Marijuana consumption is restricted only to private residences. People are allowed to carry 30 grams on them in public.
Newfoundland and Labrador – Consumption of marijuana in Newfoundland and Labrador is limited to private residences only. In Newfoundland & Labrador, those caught driving while high on marijuana are subject to the same penalties as drunk drivers, with the additions depending on the number of offenses. People are allowed to carry 30 grams on them in public.
Nunavut – The territory will sell marijuana online and by phone. Consumption of marijuana is permitted in private residences and in public spaces where tobacco is allowed. Prohibited in areas frequented by children—playgrounds, parades and other outdoor public events. People are allowed to carry 30 grams on them in public.
Northwest Territories – All marijuana sales will go through the Northwest Territories Liquor and Cannabis Commission, though private retail may be coming soon. Marijuana use is allowed in private residences and some public spaces, though not in cars, areas frequented by children, large crowds and designated non-smoking areas. People are allowed to carry 30 grams on them in public.
Yukon – Citizens must be 19 years of age or older to purchase marijuana, much of which will be done online at first. Use of marijuana in the Yukon is allowed in private residences and adjoining properties only. People are allowed to carry 30 grams on them in public.
For those that did not show it, all provinces have a 30 gram public possession limit. Marijuana can also be purchased in either government-operated stores or private licensed stores. Everyone of the provinces have an alternative that marijuana can be purchased online!